Where are my “peeps”? (Mini Rant)

So as I’m browsing and reading across the blogosphere today I come to a very sad and lonely realization which deserves a mini-rant.

I had my kids young. Not young anymore, I’m 35 now.  My son is almost 14 — my daughter almost 12. They will both be in middle school this year.  Gone are the days of elementary school parties, PE, parent teacher conferences and Easter Egg hunts.  Instead, our school year is full of football games, band practices, homework battles and the normal struggles of dealing with two very different hormone-laden kids. And to make me really feel old…my son stands about 10 inches taller than me already and outweighs me by at least 80 lbs. 

As I visit other woman-written blogs throughout the day I realize that everyone is having babies!  Tons of talk about diapers, feedings, firsts, cute baby moments, sleepless nights and the like.  Where are my fellow mothers to teenagers?  Are we all just too busy to blog? 

I have nothing against the mommy bloggers out there who have little ones, I’m just feeling lonely.  I would love to read about the lives of mom’s like me that are entering what I call the “Challenge Years” and dealing with teenagers.  Moms I can identify more closely with. Unfortunatley I haven’t found too many blogs like that.

I loved my kids baby/toddler years.  It might seem like they are difficult to deal with at the time but as I warn friends of mine….it doesn’t get any easier unfortunately.  If anything I think it gets harder.  One set of worries and concerns get replaced with a whole new set.  One thing never changes no matter how old our kids get — that we are their parents and will always feel the need to take care of them…..forever.

That’s all, I just needed to say that. Have a Happy Wednesday!

About dockfam

I’m Jennifer, married to David for nearly 15 wonderful years. We live in the hell-like barren desert of southern US, also known as Texas with our 2 teenagers. I work outside the home full time and I enjoy blogging, reading, cooking and playing guitar and piano. Our family loves to go on family vacations and we have a distinct love of all things Disney related. We would eat rice and beans for dinner for a whole year if it meant we could therefore take a long, fun filled, memory making vacation together. No, we’re not stupid that’s just how we roll. Please connect with me any which way, I'd be delighted to get to know you!

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Just for Fun, Rants and Raves and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Mine are in their twenties. I don’t blog too much about them. Don’t know why. I just don’t.
    Try Blogger. There are MANY mommy blogs on there.
    If you want to rant about your teenagers, go ahead. I’m sure you’ll get a ton of advice from people here that are already subscribed. And we can all relate!

    • Thanks! I’m sure as we get into the school year I will have a lot to talk about. This will be my daughter’s first year in middle school and I’m sure it will be quite the adventure!

  2. Hi..I’m not the mother of teenagers anymore but I wrote a couple of blogs when my children were…one of my sons http://hometogo232.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/trifecta-challenge-httpwww-trifectawritingchallenge-com/ and one of my daughter May 26 called The Age of Doubts…if you’re interested…Diane

    • Thank you Diane! I’m going to go read that right now. It’s a strange time, sometimes I don’t feel much older than a teenager myself. It’s crazy to think not too long ago I was trying to figure out everything myself!

  3. Here I am! I have 3 “tween-aged” boys, and they sure keep me hopping!

    • Yay! 3 boys — hmmm, is my opinion that boys are easier than girls at this age correct? It just seems that way in my house or it might be that mothers and daughters usually butt heads during this stage in life. Not quite sure yet.

  4. Feel free to check out my blog. I am 39 this year with a 15 year old son. Two more younger as well, but they are still in the ‘angel’ stage. Believe me, you aren’t alone. I was told once by a counselor that based off my childhood experiences, I was programmed to screw up my kids. Sometimes I wonder if he wasn’t more accurate than I gave him credit for. Anyway, I’m still figuring it out myself. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

Veronica's Cornucopia

Baking, Living, and Thanks-giving

i put my life on a shelf

Solo Female Travel Blog

The Hip Grandmother

There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

MrHairyBrit - Hairy YouTube Man

Bloggy Home of the Vloggy YouTuber

TwinDays

Living, Learning, Food, Travel, Enjoying, Fashion.

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist & tango ♪ ♪ ♪

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Shoes On The Wrong Feet

There's a fire over here, everyone panic! And other ramblings...

The Jittery Goat

Short stories by Kenton Lewis

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

As Told by Laura

The adventures of a child trapped in a woman's body.

INSANITY OF MOTHERHOOD motherhood midlife madness

Insane mom of three boys, wife, educator, and all around nice gal in the middle of a midlife something. It's not a crisis, but it's something...

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Misc. Maggie

Everyone is Entitled to My Opinion

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

