Lost in the Airport!

As if I’m not anxious enough about flying on Sunday to Hawaii, I had to go and have a nightmare last night about the flight.  Isn’t it weird how our brains transform our hidden stress into vivid, nerve-wrecking, realistic dreams that no matter how hard you try — you can’t make yourself wake up from when you want to?

It started with all of us waiting to board the plane.  We all had our boarding passes — me, my husband and our kids.  When we bought the tickets we made sure to pay a little more for seats all together so none of us would have to spend either flight (we are connecting in LAX) sitting next to a pervert.  C’mon, you know that if you have to share your personal space with a stranger you automatically assume they are a pervert and try never to make eye contact — well, I do.

Anyway, in the dream right before boarding we looked down at our passes and saw that our seats were all separate.  My daughter got a seat in the middle all the way in the back of the plane and was very upset.  I tried to get the agent to change the seats but she said it was too late.  We got in our seats and then I realized I forgot my bag under the chair in the waiting area!  I went to go get it and somehow (you know how dreams are) the airport suddenly transformed into somewhere completely different and all of a sudden I had no idea where I was or how to get back to the plane — and more importantly, my family.

I finally found a gate and was allowed onto the plane.  I couldn’t see my husband or kids but I just thought it was because I was frazzled and it was a packed flight.  The pilot starts to make an announcement and says “Thank you for joining us on flight yada-yada…non-stop service from DFW to Chicago”  What??  Chicago?  NO, NO!  I’m going to LAX!!

I bolted up out of my seat and ran furiously off of the plane.  Again, I was in the strange terminal and was lost.  Panic completely sets in and at this point one part of my brain knows I’m sleeping and it’s a dream.  I’m trying to wake up because I can’t breath but I don’t.  Finally I make it back to GATE 58 (I even remember the gate number!) and onto the plane.  They are just about to pull away for take off.

I turn around and see my poor daughter stuffed between two weirdos and starting to cry.  That makes me start to cry and at this point my alarm goes off and I wake up.  Thank God!  I was drenched in sweat and still felt like I wanted to cry.

Normally I hit the snooze and try to get in 10 extra minutes.  Not this time.  I was happy to wake up and get ready for work!

About dockfam

I’m Jennifer, married to David for nearly 15 wonderful years. We live in the hell-like barren desert of southern US, also known as Texas with our 2 teenagers. I work outside the home full time and I enjoy blogging, reading, cooking and playing guitar and piano. Our family loves to go on family vacations and we have a distinct love of all things Disney related. We would eat rice and beans for dinner for a whole year if it meant we could therefore take a long, fun filled, memory making vacation together. No, we’re not stupid that’s just how we roll. Please connect with me any which way, I'd be delighted to get to know you!

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. You are hilarious! Maybe you need to go to one of those schools for frightened fliers before you leave?!?

    • They have those? I need to make friends with one of those hypnotist people…they can put a “spell” on me (or whatever they do) before I leave and tell my husband the trigger word so he can pull me out of it when we land.

  2. Have you ever flown before?
    Now, I could see myself having a nightmare like that since I’ve never flown. Don’t stress over it, take it one day at a time. Don’t think about what’s going to go on at the airport. Worry about that when you get there. Right now, worry about packing and domestic crap. And wow, think about Hawaii! How cool is that?? Have a great time!!

    • This is the really weird thing. I’ve been flying all my life. My dad worked for American Airlines for 40 years so we would fly standby all over the place when I was young (when it was easy to fly standby). Back then, my mom was the nervous one — I had NO problems with it and actually enjoyed flying. Now, as I am older and have kids of my own I’m a nervous wreck. Maybe it’s because I know more now than I did back then…maybe it’s because I have 2 other lives that I am responsible for other than my own…maybe I watch too much TV and too many movies…..maybe it’s just me getting old and crazy!

      • I don’t remember you being so fearful when we were younger! But then, I’ve even gotten more tense as I’ve had kids and Lord knows I’ve flown enough, lol! You’ll be fine and y’all are going to have an awesome time in HI!

      • Nope, probably just one of the many side effects of getting old! Ha!

  3. Drink a few brews (once onboard), it helps lots… ;)

  4. Yikes, what a nightmare! Sounds as if your brain won’t turn off the worry long enough for you to get some decent sleep. I’d suggest napping on the plane, but only if you’re seated next to your family — nobody in her right mind sleeps next to perverts, haha!

  5. Not what you need just before leaving on a wonderful holiday…but hopefully tonight you will sleep soundly and without any further nightmares. I’ve had my share of them so I know how it feels…not pleasant at all… Have a good sleep and trip….Diane

  6. Hopefully you will be able to rest once you are settled on the plane.

Leave a Reply

Veronica's Cornucopia

Baking, Living, and Thanks-giving

i put my life on a shelf

Solo Female Travel Blog

The Hip Grandmother

There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

MrHairyBrit - Hairy YouTube Man

Bloggy Home of the Vloggy YouTuber

TwinDays

Living, Learning, Food, Travel, Enjoying, Fashion.

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist & tango ♪ ♪ ♪

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Shoes On The Wrong Feet

There's a fire over here, everyone panic! And other ramblings...

The Jittery Goat

Short stories by Kenton Lewis

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

As Told by Laura

The adventures of a child trapped in a woman's body.

INSANITY OF MOTHERHOOD motherhood midlife madness

Insane mom of three boys, wife, educator, and all around nice gal in the middle of a midlife something. It's not a crisis, but it's something...

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Misc. Maggie

Everyone is Entitled to My Opinion

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

