Bloggers for Movember Challenge

Today I am joining forces with Le Clown from A Clown on Fire by participating in his Bloggers for Movember challenge.  The challenge unites Bloggers across several different platforms as a fundraising mission for and to raise awareness of prostate cancer as well as men’s mental health issues.  As much as I would totally grow a mustache to show my support in this noble cause – I don’t think that it is physically possible (or that my husband would like it so much) so I wanted to share with you a few thoughts and ask that you please visit Le Clown’s page and read more about his mission.

My Dad was diagnosed with the early stages of prostate cancer a few years ago.  He went through radiation treatments and over the course of 6-8 long, uncomfortable months – the docs were able to obliterate the cancerous cells.  My dad has gotten through some crazy stuff and this was one more notch on the victory bedpost.  However, some are not so lucky.  I thank God they were able to catch it early and treat it right away.

I was having a conversation with a friend the other day about how evil cancer really is.  All the books say: live a healthy life….don’t drink, don’t smoke, stay out of the sun, eat clean, exercise, avoid toxins etc….and you can live forever.  No, I don’t believe that.  Cancer has no specific targets.  It can affect anyone at any time.  There have been people who smoked for 60+ years and lived a long, cancer free life and then there are those who never smoked a day, ran 10 miles 5x a week, ate healthy foods and have passed from cancer.   It is not selective or discriminatory….it has no biases.  I think the best and maybe the only attempt at prevention is to have regular checkups and hope that if (God forbid) cancer should come knocking on our doors….that it is caught early enough to be treated.

It is almost unfathomable that in this day and age of extremely complex and advanced technology – we have yet to find a cure.  We can raise awareness and support cancer research programs by not letting the cause be forgotten or put in the background.  Continue to raise our voices and let others know how important this is.  Keep in our hearts and prayers those who have passed before us from this evil sickness so that their fights were not in vain.

Thank you Le Clown for allowing me to be a part of your cause. Blessings to you!

About dockfam

I’m Jennifer, married to David for nearly 15 wonderful years. We live in the hell-like barren desert of southern US, also known as Texas with our 2 teenagers. I work outside the home full time and I enjoy blogging, reading, cooking and playing guitar and piano. Our family loves to go on family vacations and we have a distinct love of all things Disney related. We would eat rice and beans for dinner for a whole year if it meant we could therefore take a long, fun filled, memory making vacation together. No, we’re not stupid that’s just how we roll. Please connect with me any which way, I'd be delighted to get to know you!

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Hopefully, with your and all the other voices raised, enough funds will be donated to allow the research necessary to finally understand and defeat all forms of cancer.
    Way to go, Dockfam!

  2. This is a great cause my daddy did this last year, I’ll have to try to talk him into doing it again…

  3. This is a great initiative.

  4. Definitely a great cause. We can do so much with technology but we really need to focus more on cancer cures. I agree, cancer is evil, probably the biggest evil.

  5. Good post. I joined Le Clown yesterday and all ready have the “Bloggers for Movember” button on both my blogs. I will soon write a post on how cancer has affected my life and my families and ask for other people to join. It is certainly a cause worth fighting.

  6. Prostate cancer was one cancer that touched one of my brother’s…but cancer in various forms has taken 5 of my siblings…It truly does not discriminate…Some day with God’s help a cure will be found….Diane

  7. This is a wonderful cause. Fighting for causes such as this is really a full time job and then some. My dad also had prostate cancer. He had the surgery and had to undergo the radiation treatments too. Not a fun time.

  8. Jenn and to everyone on this comment thread,
    I couldn’t thank you all enough for your support, and involvement. I have a feeling that 2012 will be a great year for Movember, and as Guapo said, help better “understand and defeat all forms of cancer”.
    Le Clown

  9. You are right – cancer doesn’t care about what the experts say will make you live longer – I have recently lost a friend at age 34 to breast cancer – it’s devastating – Bloggers for Movember is an awesome cause ~

Leave a Reply

Veronica's Cornucopia

Baking, Living, and Thanks-giving

i put my life on a shelf

Solo Female Travel Blog

The Hip Grandmother

There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

MrHairyBrit - Hairy YouTube Man

Bloggy Home of the Vloggy YouTuber

TwinDays

Living, Learning, Food, Travel, Enjoying, Fashion.

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist & tango ♪ ♪ ♪

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Shoes On The Wrong Feet

There's a fire over here, everyone panic! And other ramblings...

The Jittery Goat

Short stories by Kenton Lewis

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

As Told by Laura

The adventures of a child trapped in a woman's body.

INSANITY OF MOTHERHOOD motherhood midlife madness

Insane mom of three boys, wife, educator, and all around nice gal in the middle of a midlife something. It's not a crisis, but it's something...

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Misc. Maggie

Everyone is Entitled to My Opinion

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

