A Safe Arrival and Warm Island Welcome

My Aunt picked us up at the airport and we were “leid” – greeted with authentic Hawaiian flower leis. It was SO nice to walk outside and not be instantly drenched in sweat. The weather was a soothing and cool 84 degrees. It literally felt like we had landed in heaven. We took the scenic route to my aunt’s house, as we were going to wait there until my parents arrived from their flight later that evening. Here are some sights we passed along the way:

The Fam in the Back Seat

Upon arrival to her house, we were welcomed with family hugs and lots of good food! My favorite surprise of all was that my cousins had picked us up a box of malasadas from the famous Lenard’s bakery down the street from their house. If you aren’t familiar with Lenard’s go HERE to see what all the fuss is about!

This is how they describe their malasadas on the website: “A malasada is sort of like a doughnut without the hole. We fry generously-sized balls of dough until the crust is golden brown with a light and fluffy inside. Because our dough is made with the finest ingredients, you get a malasada with a sweet toasted flavor, both crunchy and chewy. Ono, as we say here in Hawai’i!”

This is how I describe their malasadas: “A total party in my mouth!” Served hot and rolled in sugar, they are SOOOOO sinful and yummy.  You can also get them with custard filling tho I prefer the plain ones.  We had them again for breakfast later in the week. I would make the long journey to HI again just to enjoy more of these!

Along with those little pillows of doughy goodness, we had a plethora of salads, my favorite sticky rice and teriyaki beef/chicken for the carnivores. The evening continued and the kids got to meet new cousins as well as swim with them in the pool. My husband and I got to catch up with our Hawaiian family members who I haven’t seen in many moons!

My parents arrived later on in the evening, around 730 or so Pacific Time which was 1230am in Texas! By this time we had been awake for about 22 hours. Looking at my husband and kids, I could see through my blurry tired eyes that we were all fading fast. Mom and Dad caught some food and visited for a bit but then thought it best for us all to make our way to the condo for the night.

Once inside the condo all we could say was WOW. I knew this sucker was on the beach but this was literally ON the beach — 1st floor right above the Subway sandwich shop and snack shack. It had a lanai that wrapped itself around the condo with a panoramic view of the ocean and the neighboring park. When we arrived it was night but there is nothing like hearing the sound of waves crashing against the shore to put you right to sleep.

Inside the condo, living room with lanai outside over beach

Snack shack below

My Favorite Chair

Dark Picture but this is the beach/park view to right

View to the left

The owner of the condo had fully prepared for our arrival by preplacing goodies in the fridge for us. My son quickly found the ice cream and downed a few prior to going to bed. We all crashed pretty darn early for Hawaii time, even though it was really almost 2am by this time back at home!

3 thoughts on “A Safe Arrival and Warm Island Welcome

    • Hmmmm…..wait…yes, I did but TSA confiscated it on my way home. He said he had to eat it to make sure I wasn’t bringing back poisonous food to the mainland….what, he wasn’t telling me the truth??

Leave a Reply

