Life Before YouTube

My husband is going for a 2 day birthday trip with my father to Las Vegas next week.  Prior to every Vegas trip we have a ritual and that is to watch slot machine videos on YouTube to get the luck vibes flowing.  So last night we were doing just that and somehow we went from videos of the Sex in the City slot machine to videos of some creepy Korean boy band…which my husband found fascinating but I found utterly annoying.

While he proceeded to watch several videos of these guys singing in a foreign language while dancing like Michael Jackson groupies, I was Facebook chatting with my best friend R on my iPhone.  I was grumbling to her about what my husband had just discovered and that led us to start talking about another video on YouTube called the “Skype Laughter Chain” which my son had played for me the day before.  Now, this one IS hilarious…check it out.

You’re probably wondering what I’m getting at here.  Well, I commented to R “How did we ever live without YouTube as kids?” It seems as if YouTube is becoming more popular than cable TV.  I mean, I find that my kids watch YouTube more than the teenie bopper shows on Disney or Nickelodeon these days.  Rockstars and video bloggers are getting discovered and making millions of dollars….and, you can learn how to do ANYTHING on YouTube nowadays.  Want to learn how to play the guitar?  Go to YouTube.  Need to knit a scarf?  Go to YouTube.  Looking for a good Yoga practice? Go to YouTube.  It’s insanity!

But — I’m off track here….I digress…  The response to my question that I asked R, was her saying “Well, we DID make our own commercials…remember??” Then it came back to me.  We too, at the age of around 12, did act a fool in front of a camera and think it was cool.  In my room, with walls of pink, we set up the huge-honker VHS style camera that looked something like this:

and acted out our own “commercials” for household products we found around the house.  I remember one was for Soft&Dry deodorant.  It went something like this…

Cue Camera — I come into frame and say:

“Wow!  That was a workout! (looking distressed and tired…proceed to sniff my armpit..)
“I need some deodorant!’ (out of nowhere a Soft and Dry deodorant stick comes flying into the shot, as I catch it and proceed to apply under my arms)
“AAAAAHHHHH, that’s much better” I say.
The music in my head begins to play and I start to sing some weird jingle that I had just made up about Soft&Dry deodorant while doing some sort of disturbing Bob Fosse style jazz-hands dance.
CUT!

Or how about this one for Sea Breeze facial skin toner (yeah, you remember that stuff….)

Cue Camera — R comes into frame and says:

“I have a date tonight and OH NO! A Zit!” (R looks into an invisible mirror, completely surprised and troubled — makes Home Alone face)
“What am I going to do??  Oh, wait…maybe if I put on some of this…” (R picks up Sea Breeze and pretends to put on zit)
R Looks back in invisible mirror….”Wow!  All gone!  Thank you Sea Breeze….”
R holds bottle close to face in pure Vanna White fashion and says “Sea Breeze….it breezes you /pause/ while you’re on /pause/ the /pause/ sea.”
R then sidesteps out of camera range and waves goodbye with one Miss USA-like hand the way Jacob Marley did in that old Christmas Carol movie.
CUT!

Yup — we did.  We had our own YouTube videos back then.  Rather we should’ve called them You”Tard” videos but it was all in good fun.  Our ridiculousness was not played out on the internet for all to see, however we did hold a “viewing” for our parents.  I still can’t figure out if that was a look of horror or humor on my moms face but R and I thought we were the shit.

Would we have put this craziness on the internet if we could’ve back then?  I dunno, we probably would’ve been a little more reserved.   I have to give it to all of the kiddos out there now who bare everything to the world on YouTube.  They certainly are brave souls — the world has some very cruel people in it.  Have you read some of those comments people write?  It’s scary.

For now, I’m fine with my little YouTube channel. It hosts a variety of videos on it but you will not see me on there singing, juggling, tap dancing or anything like that.  I’ll leave that to today’s youth, they do a fine job.  YOLO!

14 thoughts on “Life Before YouTube

  1. Good points. I left YT because of the “haters”. There are so many nasty people on YT these days, which is why I came back to WP and it stuck this time. The people on WP are fantastic and respectful of each other. I’m glad your experience with YT has been a good one. Google needs to do something about these meanies though…

    • I have comments set to where I have to approve them all. I’ve only gotten one rude comment so it hasn’t been too bad. But, my kids go on YT to watch stuff all the time and I have to watch because of all that crap they are surely reading that’s not appropriate. I originally created my YT channel so I could store all of our family video forever without having it take up space on my hard drive…then I decided to make public certain ones.

      • I see, have you tried an external hard drive? I’ve been using one for several years for storing a copy of every single file and folder I never want to lose, as well as keeping another copy on my wife’s PC.

      • That’s a good idea. I have pictures on an old hard drive that doesn’t even work anymore..yet the pics are still there. I need to figure out how to get them!

  2. ryoko861 says:

    I actually went to YouTube to find out how Carmindy (What Not To Wear) applies makeup. My son and I are subscribed to a whole bunch of channels that are hilarious! Back in the 70’s, we were entertained with the tv and the stereo. And we wondered then how we got along without THOSE things!

  3. I’m old enough that we had to stage little “plays” outside in front of the living room window for anyone we could get to sit on the couch inside. I did make some student films in college… just as well they’re lost in the mists of history! Some things are best left in ones youth, but we sure did have fun making them!

Leave a Reply

