Roasted Butternut Squash and Veggie Soup

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend so far! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I made some yummy recipes last weekend when it was cold outside and I hoped to share a few of them with you.  The cold didn’t last long, yesterday’s high was almost 90.  Welcome to Texas weather.

My favorite was the soup I made. I’m a terrible food photographer but I did take a pic of the finished product. If you thought soup was hard to make, think again. This is really easy and really good for you too! It takes some pre-dinner prep work but will make your house smell great all day.

Roasted Butternut Squash and Veggie Soup

Ingredients:

1 medium size Buternut Squash

2 celery stalks

2 cups mini-carrots

1 cup chopped cauliflower

1 cup chopped onion

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp nutmeg

Vegetable Broth

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

 

Directions:

Roast all vegetables first. Cut the butternut squash lengthwise and scoop out the seeds/pulp. Rub the inside with olive oil and sprinkle with salt pepper and nutmeg. Place flesh side down on baking sheet and roast at 400 degrees for almost an hour.

If you have room in your oven, roast the other vegetables at the same time. In a 9×13 baking dish, combine the garlic, carrots and cauliflower. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast at 400 degrees for almost an hour.

Once all the veggies are roasted, scoop out the squash flesh into a bowl and put aside. In a large saucepan or dutch oven, saute onion and celery in 2 tbsp olive oil until softened. Add squash and other roasted vegetables to pan and mix well. Pour in vegetable broth until all veggies are completely covered and let simmer for 30 minutes.

Put all contents into a blender (careful, it’s hot!) and puree until smooth and creamy. Add more broth if the soup is too thick for your liking.

Pour into serving bowls and enjoy!

YUM!

10 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash and Veggie Soup

  1. Hi there! I’ve been experimenting with making home made soups lately. I’ve used calliflower in some of my soups but not the squash. I like squash too, but I dont remember trying the buternut squash before. Hope you don’t mind me copying and pasting your recipe onto my recipe page. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

